Dr. Daniel Heard is the creator of Heisman-HYPE.com, presenting analysis and forecasts of the Heisman Trophy.


Heard conducted extensive research on examining trends in Heisman Trophy voting and developing a data-driven forecast for annual Heisman voting. To the end, he created the Heisman HYPE (Hierarchical Yearly Prediction Ensemble) model to forecast the Heisman Trophy winner in 2010 as a graduate student at Duke University. The model (built from data at Sports-Reference.com and cfbstats.com) has correctly predicted the winner of the Heisman trophy each year since 2010. He contributed Heisman content and analysis to HeismanPundit.com during the 2013 season.


In recent seasons, his work has been featured in:
The Athletic (Paywall)

Listen to Daniel’s interview with Joe Gartrell as part of the Gathering of Knowledge Lecture series:
Part 1
Part 2

You can contact Daniel at heismanhype@gmail.com.


Heisman Winners
Year Player School
2014 Voting Marcus Mariota Oregon
2013 Voting Jameis Winston Florida State
2012 Voting Johnny Manziel* Texas A&M
2011 Voting Robert Griffin III* Baylor
2010 Voting Cam Newton* Auburn
2009 Voting Mark Ingram* Alabama
2008 Voting Sam Bradford* Oklahoma
2007 Voting Tim Tebow* Florida
2006 Voting Troy Smith* Ohio State
2005 Voting Reggie Bush* Southern California
2004 Voting Matt Leinart* Southern California
2003 Voting Jason White* Oklahoma
2002 Voting Carson Palmer* Southern California
2001 Voting Eric Crouch* Nebraska
2000 Voting Chris Weinke* Florida State
1999 Voting Ron Dayne* Wisconsin
1998 Voting Ricky Williams* Texas
1997 Voting Charles Woodson* Michigan
1996 Voting Danny Wuerffel* Florida
1995 Voting Eddie George* Ohio State
1994 Voting Rashaan Salaam* Colorado
1993 Voting Charlie Ward* Florida State
1992 Voting Gino Torretta* Miami (FL)
1991 Voting Desmond Howard* Michigan
1990 Voting Ty Detmer* Brigham Young
1989 Voting Andre Ware Houston
1988 Voting Barry Sanders* Oklahoma State
1987 Voting Tim Brown* Notre Dame
1986 Voting Vinny Testaverde* Miami (FL)
1985 Voting Bo Jackson* Auburn
1984 Voting Doug Flutie* Boston College
1983 Voting Mike Rozier* Nebraska
1982 Voting Herschel Walker* Georgia
1981 Voting Marcus Allen* Southern California
1980 Voting George Rogers* South Carolina
1979 Voting Charles White* Southern California
1978 Voting Billy Sims* Oklahoma
1977 Voting Earl Campbell* Texas
1976 Voting Tony Dorsett* Pittsburgh
1975 Voting Archie Griffin* Ohio State
1974 Voting Archie Griffin* Ohio State
1973 Voting John Cappelletti* Penn State
1972 Voting Johnny Rodgers* Nebraska
1971 Voting Pat Sullivan* Auburn
1970 Voting Jim Plunkett* Stanford
1969 Voting Steve Owens Oklahoma
1968 Voting O.J. Simpson* Southern California
1967 Voting Gary Beban UCLA
1966 Voting Steve Spurrier* Florida
1965 Voting Mike Garrett Southern California
1964 Voting John Huarte Notre Dame
1963 Voting Roger Staubach* Navy
1962 Voting Terry Baker* Oregon State
1961 Voting Ernie Davis* Syracuse
1960 Voting Joe Bellino* Navy
1959 Voting Billy Cannon* Louisiana State
1958 Voting Pete Dawkins Army
1957 Voting John David Crow* Texas A&M
1956 Voting Paul Hornung Notre Dame
1955 Voting Howard Cassady Ohio State
1954 Voting Alan Ameche Wisconsin
1953 Voting John Lattner Notre Dame
1952 Voting Billy Vessels Oklahoma
1951 Voting Dick Kazmaier Princeton
1950 Voting Vic Janowicz Ohio State
1949 Voting Leon Hart Notre Dame
1948 Voting Doak Walker* Southern Methodist
1947 Voting John Lujack Notre Dame
1946 Voting Glenn Davis Army
1945 Voting Doc Blanchard Army
1944 Voting Les Horvath Ohio State
1943 Voting Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame
1942 Voting Frank Sinkwich* Georgia
1941 Voting Bruce Smith Minnesota
1940 Voting Tom Harmon Michigan
1939 Voting Nile Kinnick Iowa
1938 Voting Davey O’Brien* Texas Christian
1937 Voting Clint Frank Yale
1936 Voting Larry Kelley Yale
1935 Voting Jay Berwanger Chicago

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s